Dunlop Road Smart 3 Review: Exceptional Grip and Mileage

Presenting the Dunlop Road Smart 3 tire, designed for riders seeking both excellent grip and impressive mileage. These tires come in a few sizes, primarily fitting sport and sporty bikes with 17-inch wheels.

But, the main question I will answer in this review will be: Are these the best touring motorcycle tires for you? Let’s find out!

Dunlop Road Smart 3

br-lazy"

Features

  • Improved Wet Grip Technology
  • Precise Handling and Feedback
  • Extended Mileage and Performance

Dunlop’s Challenge to Michelin

Dunlop developed the Road Smart 3 as a continuation of the Road Smart 2, taking aim at Michelin’s Pilot Road 4 GT tire. They aimed to achieve exceptional grip and impressive mileage with this tire.

Enhanced Grip and Mileage

Silica for Improved Grip

The Road Smart 3 contains a high amount of silica, providing excellent grip, especially in cold and wet conditions.

This is beneficial for riders who frequently encounter adverse weather during their rides, whether on long trips or daily commutes.

Tire Sizing

Tire ModelWheel Rim SizeSpeed RatingStar Rating
Dunlop Roadsmart 3110/80R-19H3
Dunlop Roadsmart 3120/70-17W4.5
Dunlop Roadsmart 3120/70-18Not specified3
Dunlop Roadsmart 3110/80-18Not specified4.5
Dunlop Roadsmart 3160/70-17Not specified4
Dunlop Roadsmart 3160/60-17Not specified4.5
Dunlop Roadsmart 3180/55-17Not specified4.5
Dunlop Roadsmart 3190/50-17Not specified4
Dunlop Roadsmart 3 GT180/55-17Not specified5
Dunlop Roadsmart 3 GT190/50-17Not specified4.5
Dunlop Roadsmart 3 GT190/55-17Not specified4

Multi-Tread Technology for Increased Mileage

Dunlop utilizes multi-tread technology to improve the tire’s mileage. This dual compound tire features a harder compound in the center strip, ensuring longer wear and preventing flat spots after extensive freeway miles. The tire’s shoulders have a softer compound, providing enhanced grip as the lean angle increases.

Features and Benefits

FeaturesBenefits
High silica contentEnhanced grip in cold and wet conditions
Multi-tread technologyIncreased mileage and optimal wear
Dual compound designExcellent grip at various lean angles

Likes and Dislikes

I like the tire’s excellent grip, particularly in wet weather, and its overall handling capabilities; however, its longevity was not so good.

While the tire performed well, I noticed that it did not last as long as they had hoped, so I had to replace it sooner than expected.

Additionally, I found the tire to be a bit noisy, particularly at higher speeds, which detracted from my overall riding experience.

Despite some minor drawbacks, I was satisfied with this tire. I found the tire an excellent choice for sport-touring riders who prioritize longevity and performance.

The tire’s grip and handling were particularly good, making it a great option for riders who value safety and control on the road.

Final Thoughts on the Dunlop Road Smart 3

The Dunlop Road Smart 3 is a promising tire for those seeking a combination of great grip and impressive mileage.

Is it the best touring motorcycle tire? No, but, despite some minor drawbacks, I was satisfied with this tire.

For further insight, explore the comments section to see what others who have tried the Road Smart 3 have to say.

Previous Article: Continental Trail Attack 3 Review

Next Article: Michelin Road 5 Trail Review

Also available on AmazonOpens in a new tab.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *