Alpinestars AMT-10R Jacket Review: Worth The High Price Tag?

I recently had the opportunity to test out the new Alpinestars Tech-Air 10R motorcycle jacket. As an experienced motorcyclist and someone who relies on quality gear to keep me safe on the road, I was eager to put the Alpinestars AMT-10R jacket through its paces and see how it stacks up.

In this detailed review, I’ll provide my honest thoughts on the 10R based on several hundred miles of riding in various conditions.

But, the main question I will answer in this review will be: Is this the best adventure motorcycle jacket for you? Let’s find out!

Alpinestars AMT-10R Jacket Review

br-lazy"

Key Takeaways

  • Durable, waterproof outer shell
  • Lightweight ventilated inner mesh
  • Innovative, versatile hybrid design

Sizing and Fit

Let’s start with sizing and fit since getting the right size is crucial for comfort and protection. I typically take a size large jacket with a 42″ chest.

The 10R in size large fits me fairly snugly—this is not a relaxed touring cut but more of a close road-race style fit. For reference, I’m 5’10” and 175 lbs with a 33″ waist.

According to Alpinestars’ new sizing chart, the large 10R has a 41-43″ chest measurement.

I’d say the fit skews towards the lower end of that range, so definitely try it on in person if possible. For those with athletic builds, sizing up might be advisable, especially if you plan on layering underneath.

SIZECHEST (IN)WAIST (IN)ARM (IN)HEIGHT (IN)
2XS30.7-32.924.8-27.219.3-20.161.8-63.8
XS32.9-3527.2-29.520.1-21.164.2-66.1
SM35-37.229.5-31.921.5-22.266.5-68.5
MD37.2-39.431.9-34.322.6-23.268.9-70.5
LG39.4-41.534.3-36.223.6-24.470.9-72.4
XL41.5-43.736.2-38.224.8-25.672.8-74.4
2XL43.7-45.938.2-40.226-26.874.8-76.4
3XL45.9-4840.2-42.126-26.874.8-76.4
4XL48-50.242.1-44.126.8-27.676.8-78.3
5XL50.2-52.444.1-46.126.8-27.676.8-78.3
6XL52.4-54.546.1-4826.8-27.676.8-78.3

Construction and Materials

The Tech-Air 10R features a hybrid construction with a waterproof outer shell and a lightweight inner mesh jacket. Let’s look at each component:

Outer Shell

The outer shell is constructed from a heavy-duty waterproof laminate that feels extremely durable. Alpinestars upgraded this shell from the standard ten jacket with a more abrasion-resistant polyester fabric.

Strategic Superfabric overlays provide additional abrasion resistance in key impact zones like the elbows, shoulders, and upper back. These help prevent delamination and damage to the shell in minor spills.

For weather protection, the shell includes a tall neck collar that seals securely closed with snap buttons. Hook-and-loop wrist closures allow easy fit adjustment over gloves. Large arm vents and a full-length back vent zip open for airflow; more on venting later.

I appreciate that the outer shell is cut roomy enough to accommodate Alpinestars’ Tech-Air airbag system. The stretch panels on the sides and back of the shell make for a comfortable fit with the airbag deployed.

Inner Mesh Jacket

Underneath the shell, the 10R has a lightweight, flexible mesh jacket very similar to the standard Tech Air 10 model. It’s constructed from durable poly fabrics with 3D mesh inserts for maximum breathability.

The inner jacket includes rugged leather and Kevlar fabric reinforcements in critical areas like the elbows and shoulders. I really like this blend of fabrics—it provides excellent abrasion protection with superior airflow.

For armor, the 10R comes equipped with Alpinestars’ Nucleon Flex Pro protectors in the elbows and shoulders. The shoulder armor offers great coverage, and the elbow pads are decent, though a bit thin. More on fit later.

The inner jacket has a total of nine storage pockets, including large mesh pockets on the chest and interior waterproof pockets on the biceps.

The chest pockets can fit Alpinestars’ Nucleon chest protectors.

Ventilation and Weather Protection

With its convertible design, the Tech Air 10R aims to provide solid ventilation across a wide range of conditions. Here’s how it performs:

Outer Shell Venting

With the outer shell on, airflow is limited to the large arm intake vents and the long vertical back vent. Both feed directly through to the inner mesh layer.

The shell itself is not super airy. Riding in 60-70-degree temps, I occasionally felt a bit warm with just the shell vents open. Adding the underarm vents discussed below helped considerably.

For maximum airflow, you can unzip the lower back panel of the shell. This allows the bottom half to flap open while riding. Be sure to clip it in place so it doesn’t flap around at speed.

Inner Jacket Ventilation

Once you strip off the outer shell, airflow is excellent. The inner jacket is made almost entirely from mesh, with stretch panel inserts on the sides and back. Air flows freely from the front intakes through to the back.

Temperatures into the 80s are no problem with just the inner jacket on, thanks to the ample mesh. The jacket also includes short zippered armpit vents for an extra blast of airflow.

I ride dual sports and often face a wide range of temperatures when traversing elevation changes. For those variable conditions, I find myself using the shell’s vents plus opening up the inner jacket’s armpit vents for adequate airflow.

Waterproofing

With the shell on and zipped up, the 10R provides reliable wet-weather protection. The outer fabric beads up water nicely, and internal flaps behind the vents prevent leaks. Just beware that the shell pockets do not seem fully waterproof.

In heavy rain, some moisture did soak through the outer shoulders after about 20 minutes, but my core remained dry. For serious storms, a rain suit would be recommended.

Comfort and Fit

Comfort is always subjective, but I find the Tech-Air 10R reasonably comfortable in most conditions. The outer shell has some stiffness, while the inner jacket remains flexible and stretchy. Here are some additional notes:

  • The jacket fits me snugly with limited adjustability—no waist cinches or sleeve takeups.
  • The collar and wrist closures interface smoothly with my helmet and gloves. No gaps or chafing.
  • The sleeves could be a bit longer to overlap gloves and prevent air intrusion.
  • The elbow armor rides a touch low for my liking and can shift around in crashes. A tighter sleeve fit would improve this.
  • Without the shell, the inner jacket flows plenty of air and remains comfortable even when hot out.
  • The kidney belt is essential to stabilize the jacket, especially when carrying extra weight like water hydration.

My only real comfort gripe is that the kidney belt itself is basic and non-vented. A more padded and breathable belt would greatly improve comfort in hot weather.

Protection and Safety

The 10R offers decent impact protection for a mesh adventure jacket. Key components include:

Armor

  • Nucleon Flex Pro shoulder and elbow pads included. No back protector.
  • Shoulder armor offers great coverage across the whole shoulder and upper arm.
  • The elbow pads are adequate but run a bit thin. Proper sleeve fitment helps keep them in place.

Abrasion Protection

  • A durable waterproof shell provides the outer barrier against abrasion. Upgraded over standard ten jacket.
  • Superfabric overlays on the shell add significant abrasion resistance in key areas.
  • The inner jacket uses a combination of poly fabrics, leather, and Kevlar for excellent abrasion protection without sacrificing ventilation.

Airbag Compatibility

  • Shell is designed to accommodate Alpinestars’ Tech-Air airbag system.
  • Stretch fabric spans allow full inflation without constriction.

Overall, the 10R provides solid impact and abrasion resistance for typical adventure riding. The outer shell offers better abrasion protection than a basic mesh jacket. Just don’t expect the protection of a hardcore racing suit.

Convenience and Versatility

The Tech-Air 10R delivers good versatility for changing conditions:

  • Fully waterproof outer shell for wet weather and cooler riding.
  • Extremely airy inner mesh jacket for hot temps.
  • Zip-off outer shell allows quick configuration changes while riding.

However, stripping the outer shell while riding proves rather difficult. I find it easiest to pull over to remove the shell. Reconnecting the collar snap buttons is tricky when reaching around.

Once stopped, it takes me at least 60 seconds to remove the shell, which is rather inconvenient compared to jackets with easier access to the inner layer.

Potential Improvements

While a technical and versatile jacket, I feel the 10R could benefit from some refinements:

  • Add more vents to the outer shell—underarm/chest at minimum.
  • Use a water-resistant main entry zip rather than a waterproof zip behind the storm flap. Allows more airflow zipped up.
  • Provide higher quality, ventilated kidney belts.
  • Sleeves could be longer to seal tightly over gloves.
  • Streamline outer shell removal while riding. Tricky snap collar and zippers.
  • Reduce bulk and improve packability of the outer shell. Takes up significant luggage space.

If some of these pain points were addressed, the 10R could go from very good to outstanding.

The Verdict

So in summary, what’s the final verdict on the new Alpinestars Tech-Air 10R? Here are my key conclusions:

Pros

  • Durable, waterproof outer shell for weather protection
  • Lightweight, airy mesh inner jacket for ventilation
  • Hybrid design provides excellent versatility
  • Solid abrasion resistance from outer shell and inner fabrics
  • Prepped for Tech-Air airbag system

Cons

  • Outer shell venting is limited
  • Shell removal while riding is cumbersome
  • Elbow armor fits loosely and shifts around
  • Kidney belt is non-ventilated
  • It is not the most packable or compact shell design

Overall, I find the 10R to be an excellent 3-season adventure riding jacket with good protection and versatility. The outer shell’s durability and hybrid construction make it more protective than the average mesh offering.

That said, it falls short of perfection due to some niggling issues like elbow armor fit and lack of outer shell venting. I would personally rank the standard Tech Air 10 jacket higher due to fewer design flaws.

Given its price tag, more refinement would be expected on a premium piece like the 10R. I do appreciate Alpinestars’ innovative approach, but the execution still needs some work.

For now, I will happily continue testing the 10R and providing feedback to the AT team.

Ride safe, everyone! Let me know if you have any other questions.

FAQ

Does the 10R come with a hydration system?

No, the 10R does not include a hydration system. It has a pocket to hold a hydration bladder, but you’ll need to purchase that separately. Alpinestars’ Hydrapak reservoir is a good option.

How long does the 10R outer shell last?

The outer shell uses a heavy-duty waterproof fabric with Superfabric overlays in high abrasion areas. This adds serious durability against scratches and road abrasion. It should hold up better over time than a standard textile jacket.

Does the Tech-Air 10R have a thermal liner?

No, there is no extra thermal liner included with the 10R. The outer shell itself provides some insulation against the cold. For colder weather, you’ll need to wear appropriate cold-weather base layers underneath.

Is the 10R better for street or off-road use?

With its blend of textiles and hard armor, the 10R leans more toward street riding in my opinion. For serious off-road use, you’d want something with soft armor and greater mobility. But the 10R works well for light off-pavement excursions.

What kind of armor is included?

The 10R comes with Alpinestars Nucleon Flex Pro shoulder and elbow armor. No back protector is included. The armor provides decent CE level 1 impact protection. Upgraded Nucleon Pro or Nucleon Air options are available.

Conclusion

The Alpinestars Tech-Air 10R brings innovative hybrid construction to the adventure riding jacket market. While not perfect, it delivers excellent versatility and protection for changing conditions.

I hope my review gives you a detailed look at the 10R’s real-world performance. Please let me know if you have any other questions!

Previous Article: Revit Territory Jacket Review

Next Article: Roland Sands Cambria CE Women’s Jacket Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *