Alpinestars AMT-10R Jacket Review: Worth The High Price Tag?

I recently had the opportunity to test out the new Alpinestars Tech-Air 10R motorcycle jacket. As an experienced motorcyclist and someone who relies on quality gear to keep me safe on the road, I was eager to put the Alpinestars AMT-10R jacket through its paces and see how it stacks up.

In this detailed review, I’ll provide my honest thoughts on the 10R based on several hundred miles of riding in various conditions.

But, the main question I will answer in this review will be: Is this the best adventure motorcycle jacket for you? Let’s find out!

Alpinestars AMT-10R Jacket Review

br-lazy"

Key Takeaways

  • Durable, waterproof outer shell
  • Lightweight ventilated inner mesh
  • Innovative, versatile hybrid design

Sizing and Fit

Let’s start with sizing and fit since getting the right size is crucial for comfort and protection. I typically take a size large jacket with a 42″ chest.

The 10R in size large fits me fairly snugly—this is not a relaxed touring cut but more of a close road-race style fit. For reference, I’m 5’10” and 175 lbs with a 33″ waist.

According to Alpinestars’ new sizing chart, the large 10R has a 41-43″ chest measurement.

I’d say the fit skews towards the lower end of that range, so definitely try it on in person if possible. For those with athletic builds, sizing up might be advisable, especially if you plan on layering underneath.

SIZECHEST (IN)WAIST (IN)ARM (IN)HEIGHT (IN)
2XS30.7-32.924.8-27.219.3-20.161.8-63.8
XS32.9-3527.2-29.520.1-21.164.2-66.1
SM35-37.229.5-31.921.5-22.266.5-68.5
MD37.2-39.431.9-34.322.6-23.268.9-70.5
LG39.4-41.534.3-36.223.6-24.470.9-72.4
XL41.5-43.736.2-38.224.8-25.672.8-74.4
2XL43.7-45.938.2-40.226-26.874.8-76.4
3XL45.9-4840.2-42.126-26.874.8-76.4
4XL48-50.242.1-44.126.8-27.676.8-78.3
5XL50.2-52.444.1-46.126.8-27.676.8-78.3
6XL52.4-54.546.1-4826.8-27.676.8-78.3

Construction and Materials

The Tech-Air 10R features a hybrid construction with a waterproof outer shell and a lightweight inner mesh jacket. Let’s look at each component:

Outer Shell

The outer shell is constructed from a heavy-duty waterproof laminate that feels extremely durable. Alpinestars upgraded this shell from the standard ten jacket with a more abrasion-resistant polyester fabric.

Strategic Superfabric overlays provide additional abrasion resistance in key impact zones like the elbows, shoulders, and upper back. These help prevent delamination and damage to the shell in minor spills.

For weather protection, the shell includes a tall neck collar that seals securely closed with snap buttons. Hook-and-loop wrist closures allow easy fit adjustment over gloves. Large arm vents and a full-length back vent zip open for airflow; more on venting later.

I appreciate that the outer shell is cut roomy enough to accommodate Alpinestars’ Tech-Air airbag system. The stretch panels on the sides and back of the shell make for a comfortable fit with the airbag deployed.

Inner Mesh Jacket

Underneath the shell, the 10R has a lightweight, flexible mesh jacket very similar to the standard Tech Air 10 model. It’s constructed from durable poly fabrics with 3D mesh inserts for maximum breathability.

The inner jacket includes rugged leather and Kevlar fabric reinforcements in critical areas like the elbows and shoulders. I really like this blend of fabrics—it provides excellent abrasion protection with superior airflow.

For armor, the 10R comes equipped with Alpinestars’ Nucleon Flex Pro protectors in the elbows and shoulders. The shoulder armor offers great coverage, and the elbow pads are decent, though a bit thin. More on fit later.

The inner jacket has a total of nine storage pockets, including large mesh pockets on the chest and interior waterproof pockets on the biceps.

The chest pockets can fit